Kevin McKeown was sworn in as mayor Tuesday and will serve a one-year term. He replaced Gleam Davis, who served as mayor this past year. Terry O’Day will remain Mayor Pro Tempore until the end of next year.

McKeown, a veteran of the City Council, previously served a one-year term as mayor in 2015.

“We already know 2020 will be a particularly challenging year, but I embrace the challenges because we have such a capable Council and an engaged community,” McKeown said. “From housing to the economy to public safety to quality of life, my twin watchwords as mayor will be cooperation and commitment.”

Join the Conversation

1 Comment

  1. In every other city I’ve lived in, the mayor is elected by the people. Since when does the city council appoint them?

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.