CITYWIDE — The Santa Monica Conservancy will be honoring standout contributions to the preservation of the city’s architectural and cultural heritage at its annual meeting on Sunday, Feb. 24 at 2 p.m.

The Santa Monica Conservancy was founded in 2002 and is a nonprofit organization, dedicated to promoting the understanding of the cultural, social, economic and environmental benefits of preserving historical resources in the city.

The Conservancy’s President’s Award will be presented to William and Lenore Lambert, owners of the Biedler-Heuer Building at 2701-2707 Main St. These second generation owners approached the Landmarks Commission, getting the building designated as a landmark and later erecting a historic plaque that describes the building’s significance.

The Restoration Award will be given to Paul Attanasio and Katie Jacobs, owners of the Isaac Millbank House at 236 Adelaide Dr., and the architect, Kelly Sutherlin McLeod. The Millbank residence is a shingle-clad Craftsman designed and built in 1911 by a notable architectural firm, the Milwaukee Building Company.

The Renovation Award will go to John Given and Daphne Dennis, house owners, and the architects Hank Koning and Julie Eizenberg for their careful restoration of a 1915 single-story Craftsman home located at 2240 Sixth St.

The Adaptive Reuse Award goes to NMS Properties and their architects, Killefer Flammang, for preserving a World War II Quonset hut by keeping its historic exterior intact while remodeling the interior into a cafe. This hut is located at Eighth Street and Broadway.

The Stewardship Award will be given to the owners of the Horatio West Court: Bill Creber, Margaret MacLean, Wende Watt and Barbara Whitney. For four decades, the owners have restored, preserved and maintained the four-unit building to be true to its original condition and have created a landscape setting that’s aesthetically appealing.

The Rehabilitation Award will go to Community Corporation of Santa Monica for rehabilitating a large number of older muti-family homes for over several decades, thereby providing more access to affordable housing.

The Advocacy Award will be presented to Jerry Rubin and David Conrad for their leadership in the campaign to protect and preserve the “Chain Reaction” sculpture located outside of City Hall on Main Street. This sculpture was created by Pulitzer Prize-winner Paul Conrad and is Santa Monica’s first landmark work of public art.

The Outstanding Service Award will go to Hostelling International for its ongoing support of the conservancy’s weekly Downtown Walking Tour. Management and staff have continued to provide use of the lobby and Rapp Salon as gathering places for tours and tour guests.

The Outstanding Volunteer Service Award goes to Stephen and Christy McAvoy for their service to the conservancy. Stephen McAvoy is the vice chair of the conservancy’s current capital campaign and Christy McAvoy is a contributor to the conservancy’s docent program at the Annenberg Community Beach House by providing lectures to educate the public about the history of the beach house.

The annual meeting is free and open to the public and will be held at the Associated Telephone Building at 1314 Seventh St., just north of the Main Library. Jenna Snow of Chattel Inc., Historic Preservation Consultants, will give an overview of the building’s history and current renovation plans to restore exterior and interior spaces of this Art Deco structure for creative office uses.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *